Screen Printing Process

Monday 31st October

Today we had a workshop in photoshop to get prepared for our screen prints. We looked into four way that would help change our image or manipulate it.We firstly used greyscale to strip all the colour back.

Screen Shot 2016-11-02 at 12.36.43.png

So I simply stripped the grey scale so I could then work with the image to see more options for my screen print.

Here I then used the colour half tone to creScreen Shot 2016-11-02 at 12.38.22.pngate a dotted effect on the kiwi to distort it slightly but still be able to make the image. This didn’t work as well as I thought cause it completely distorted the image more than I wanted it to.

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-12-39-20

This is how the image worked out I think if the dots were smaller it might have worked but I still don’t think it works the best out of all the options I tried.

The last method I tried was the filter gallery I really liked the simple effect it gave to my image and after playing around with a few options I have decided to used the photocopied version on the left hand side for my screen print.

Screen Printing Workshop

In the afternoon we went through how to screen print and how to use the bit of equipment. I have done screen printing in the pass so I knew the process of how i use to do it in college.

We had to make a two layer image using screen print in two different ways. our background we used paper stencils that we cut out using cutting knife. I then used the screen which I prepared by making sure I had all I needed before I started. I started by printing the background using purple acrylic which I added medium to it so it wouldn’t dry quickly. When the background was drying we created our screen for our secound image using a different process.

I then used paper an traced my kiwi image over the top using a black permanent marker. I wanted to get detail in but not as much as the image I wanted to simplify it slightly. This would then be my design that would be my screen print. To make the screen we coated the screen with uv sensitive paint which took half an hour to dry then to turn it into stencil we had to expose it to light. Everything i had coloured in black would be exposed to the light and that would allow you to press ink through the image in the parts that were black.

When emulsion and light source correctly, as you expose the screen to light the uv sensitive paint should harden everywhere except where the light is blocked by the artwork positive. We then jet washed it to make sure all the emulsion had come away from the drawing.

Tuesday 1st November

Printing the screen print

Today we went in and printed our screen prints on the backgrounds we printed yesterday. When we came in today our screen were ready so it was all ready to screen print. I went and set up the screen and used green acrylic paint that I added medium to to again make it not dry up quickly.

The process from here was quick and easy I first screen printed on to acetate so I could line up the background with the print. I chose to change where I placed the print on the background every time to get a variety of different outcomes.

Once I had done all my five outcomes I put them on the drying rack and then I needed to wash my screen so I first washed the paint of with a jet wash. I then washed it again with screen medium and scrubbed it in and then jet washed it off to make sure all the sensitive paint was off.

Leave a Reply

