Social Media Project – Character Creation

Today I spent the day using illustrator to create the two main characters of our animation. I wasn’t very confident in illustrator so i spent a hour getting my barking on the software before I attempted my character. I also watched a youtube video to give me a insight on how to create easy characters. I used the sketches allegra had done to follow and create the main character. I started of using line and i found it hard to get the correct shape i wanted. I used video to help me and i found this helpful video which i will link below.

I then decided to use shape to create it which was easier and looked more realistic. I made this guy based of the drawing and the discussion we had as a group we decided we wanted the character skinny with curly ginger hair so i used a red top as it went best with the hair. fullsizeoutput_964

When i showed my group they loved it but felt he needed glasses and kneecap so when we animate it the knees look more realistic and more easier. I also added little detail to the hair and eyes to make it come more to life.

fullsizeoutput_95d

 

We also are going to have this character morfed into a zombie so I used sketches from Allegra and this character to make my zombie we as a team discussed colours and the way we wanted it to look I kept with the same style using shape and the same colour scheme.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 12.46.44

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 17.20.29
First zombie
Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 17.22.20
Using emojis
Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 17.22.58
The background zombies

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 17.23.07
Zombie shadows

I really enjoyed using illustrated as I’m not the best at sketches and drawing i felt this really worked for me as I really like using new program to broaden my skills. I used a simple video to give me the initial idea on how to approach it. I then took the video and the skills I learnt and play around with them to make these two character to the best of my abilities.

Leave a Reply

