Magazine Layouts

I have looked into magazine double page spread to get a feel of what magazine are like and to get inspiration for our next project changing faces. I have looked at loads of spread and picked the 5 that stood out to me the most.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 18.18.16

Elbow grease magazine 

This double page spread I liked because it has used the space well and kept the colours simple. The image is simple and the image is a collage which makes it look messy and more arty which I like. The font use is bold for the title and easy to read and the body text is big enough to read. I also like the use of pink font for the first paragraph. Also the use of underline and boldness on the question shows the importance.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 16.33.27.png

creativemarket

I chose this spread because it hasn’t used all the space which I like because its not overpowered with images. Also the use of red writing for all the text make it look more important. I don’t normally like overlay text on images but I feel in this case it does work well. I also like the bold quote on the right hand side. The way that they have used bold text for the question and started with an indent to separate the text and the question. I feel the images work well but could have filled the space more but the use of blank space works well.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 16.40.35.png

stars-colorful

This double page spread for the introduction  has used space well. I like the way that they have used a whole page for the work induction in a creative way. The alignment on the second page is well laid out. The use of boldness for the title and left aligning it in a margin on its own works really well. The use of bold letters for the question in the bottom right hand corner works well. They layout is simple but easy to follow. The picture also works well with the text in terms of alignment.

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 16.47.15.png

Squarespace

This magazine spread I chose because I love how creative and colourful it is. I also like how the layout and columns work well with the image. In the first page of the left hand side the use of right align text works well with the image and the text of food issue in the triangle works well and the font works well. The use of font works well with these images and when it bold really stands out. The use of numbers and separate underline section works really well. The yellow text box over the image works well making it look more creative.

Screen Shot 2017-04-17 at 16.59.53.png

Observe

This magazine spread is simplistic with a border around the spread and the quote in bold above works well showing the importance of the quote. The use of a drop cap in the text make it look more important I also like the way the text is split into two column but the top quote is going over the two in pink writing works well. I also like the use of an image on one whole page. The space around the border works really well because it doesn’t look overpowering.

Leave a Reply

